June 6 – July 27, 2019

Bullukian Prize 2017

Winner of the 2017 Bullukian Prize, Guillaume Barth presents for the first time in the garden of the Bullukian Foundation his immersive installation Concert pour une Nouvelle Forêt.

Drawing on recent scientific research, Guillaume Barth starts from the premise that trees communicate with each other and are capable of transmitting information to their environment through their own language.

For more than three years, the artist transcribed the data observed with 130 oak trees, presented during the exhibition. Which it results in the composition of surprising musical scores.

Vue d'exposition "Concert pour une nouvelle forêt", Guillaume Barth 2019. © Fondation Bullukian - PR
Vue d'exposition Concert pour une nouvelle forêt, 2019 © Fondation Bullukian

Guided by his meticulous observations of nature, nourished by philosophical readings and carried by ancestral knowledge, the artist revives forgotten worlds, thus revealing new sonic and visual horizons.

By this particular attention carried to the season’s cycles and the language of nature, but also by his understanding of forces and energies in movement, Guillaume Barth reminds us that the plant world is more than ever essential to our future.

PRACTICAL INFORMATIONS

This exhibition is produced in partnership with Grame, National Center for Musical Creation and ENSATT, National School of Arts and Techniques of Lyon theater. This project also benefits from the support of the Grand Est Region and the DRAC Alsace.

Born in 1985 in Colmar, Guillaume Barth lives in Strasbourg and works in different countries.

www.guillaumebarth.com

Also discover

6 juin – 27 juillet 2019

Prix Bullukian 2017

Lauréat du Prix Bullukian 2017, Guillaume Barth présente pour la première fois dans le jardin de la Fondation Bullukian son installation immersive « Concert pour une Nouvelle Forêt ».

S’appuyant sur de récentes recherches scientifiques, Guillaume Barth part du postulat que les arbres communiquent entre eux et sont capables de transmettre des informations à leur environnement à travers un langage qui leur est propre.

Pendant plus de trois ans, l’artiste a retranscrit les données observées auprès de 130 chênes, présentés lors de l’exposition. Il en résulte la composition de partitions musicales surprenantes.

Vue d'exposition "Concert pour une nouvelle forêt", Guillaume Barth 2019. © Fondation Bullukian - PR
Vue d'exposition Concert pour une nouvelle forêt, 2019 © Fondation Bullukian

Guidé par ses observations minutieuses de la nature, nourri par des lectures philosophiques et porté par des savoirs ancestraux, l’artiste fait renaître des mondes oubliés, nous dévoilant ainsi de nouveaux horizons sonores et visuels.

Par cette attention si particulière portée aux cycles des saisons et au langage de la nature, mais aussi par sa compréhension des forces et énergies en mouvements, Guillaume Barth nous rappelle que le monde végétal est plus que jamais indispensable à notre avenir.

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES

Cette exposition est réalisée en partenariat avec Grame, Centre national de création musicale et l’ENSATT, École nationale supérieure d’arts et techniques du théâtre de Lyon. Ce projet bénéficie également du soutien de la Région Grand Est et de la DRAC Alsace.

Né en 1985 à Colmar, Guillaume Barth vit à Strasbourg et travaille dans différents pays.

www.guillaumebarth.com

Découvrir aussi