September 14  – December 30, 2022.

Curatorship : Fanny Robin
Exhibition included in the Resonance program of the 2022 edition of Biennale de Lyon.

Professional days on September 12 and 13 from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Opening on September 14 at 6 p.m.

“ Freedom is born, at night, anywhere, in a hole in a wall, on the path of ice wind. ” René Char

(Translate from French to English)


For its cultural return, the Bullukian Foundation is hosting a major monographic exhibition by the artist François Réau, who pursues his exploration of drawing with the presentation of unique art works, often deployed in installations and which question our relationship to the landscape and our perception of time.

Through this exhibition, François Réau wished to pay tribute to the figure of the great poet and resistant René Char and his radical writing, sometimes abrupt but always striking; poetry then becomes the path of a sensitive proposal that oscillates between presence and absence.

The artist, who invokes the spirit of places in his projects to better reveal them, is particularly interested in the textile history of the city of Lyon, while engaging in an unprecedented with a regional company La Trudine, whose fabric production combines historical know-how and latest generation printing techniques. François Réau’s experience of drawing, made with meticulous observation, regularity and repeated gestures, is here reinvented to unfold and emancipate itself on a life-size fabric, like a new symbolic space. The pattern replaces the fine line of the pencil and the effects of unexpected gradients vibrating in contact with the material allow a new narration which makes visible unexplored phenomena.

Fanny Robin, curator

PRACTICAL INFORMATION

www.francoisreau.com

Exhibition presented from September 14 to December 30, 2022.
Professional days on September 12 and 13 from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. 
Opening on September 14 at 6 p.m.

Free entrance,
Tuesday to Friday from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. and Saturday from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. and from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m.

Organize your visit

Exhibition included in the Resonance program of the 2022 edition of Biennale de Lyon.
This exhibition is realized in collaboration with La Turdine, in Tarare.

Logo biennale resonance 2022
logoTT-sans fd-nb

Also discover

14 septembre – 30 décembre 2022.

Commissariat d’exposition : Fanny Robin
Exposition inscrite dans le programme Résonance de l’édition 2022 de la Biennale d’art contemporain de Lyon

Journées professionnelles les 12 et 13 septembre de 10h à 18h. 
Vernissage le mercredi 14 septembre à 18h.

 » La liberté nait, la nuit, n’importe où, dans un trou de mur, sur le passage des vents glacés. « 
René Char

Pour sa rentrée culturelle, la Fondation Bullukian accueille une importante exposition monographique de l’artiste François Réau, qui poursuit son exploration du dessin avec la présentation d’œuvres inédites, souvent déployées en installations et qui questionnent notre rapport au paysage et notre perception du temps.

À travers cette exposition, François Réau a souhaité rendre hommage à la figure du grand poète et résistant René Char et à son écriture radicale, parfois abrupte mais toujours saisissante ; la poésie devient alors fil d’Ariane d’une proposition sensible qui oscille entre présence et absence.

L’artiste, qui invoque dans ses projets l’esprit des lieux pour mieux les révéler, s’est particulièrement intéressé à l’histoire textile de la Ville de Lyon, tout en s’engageant dans une collaboration inédite avec l’entreprise régionale La Turdine, dont la production de tissus allie savoir-faire historique et techniques d’impressions dernières générations. L’expérience du dessin chez François Réau, faite d’observation minutieuse, de régularité et de gestes répétés, est ici réinventée pour se déployer et s’émanciper sur un tissu grandeur nature, à la manière d’un nouvel espace symbolique. La trame se substitue au trait fin du crayon et des effets de dégradés inattendus vibrant au contact de la matière permettent une nouvelle narration qui rend visible des phénomènes jusqu’ici inexplorés.

Fanny Robin, commissaire de l’exposition

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES

www.francoisreau.com

Exposition présentée du 14 septembre au 30 décembre 2022.
Journées professionnelles les 12 et 13 septembre de 10h à 18h. 
Vernissage le mercredi 14 septembre à 18h.

Entrée gratuite,
du mardi au vendredi de 14h à 18h et le samedi de 10h à 12h et de 14h à 18h.
La Fondation Bullukian sera fermée le 11 novembre et 24 décembre 2022.

Organiser votre visite

Exposition inscrite dans le programme Résonance de l’édition 2022 de la Biennale d’art contemporain de Lyon.
Cette exposition est réalisée en partenariat avec La Turdine, à Tarare et Piolat Rotary, à Saint Georges d’Espéranche.

Exposition « Du temps sois la mesure » de François Réau, présentée au Drawing Lab à Paris, du 14 octobre 2022 au 5 janvier 2023.

Logo biennale resonance 2022
logoTT-sans fd-nb
logo-piolat

Découvrir aussi